Learn2tec's Blog


Reflection: Learning Theories and Instruction
March 1, 2010, 4:41 am
Filed under: Learning Theories and Instruction

What did you find surprising or striking as you furthered your knowledge about how people learn?
It is striking to consider the amount of research that speaks of the importance of a learner’s life experience that is brought to the learning environment with them and then recognize the contrast in how the traditional classroom generalizes education. Comparing the fundamentals of behavioralism, cognitivism, constructivism, social learning, connectivism and adult learning throughout this course has helped me conceptualize the complexity of the learning process and how different it can be from one individual to the next.
How has this course deepened your understanding of your personal learning process?
As for my personal learning process, I now have a better understanding of how I learn and some things I can do to help myself. I have found that I exhibit many of the qualities of an adult learner, such as a preference for self-directed learning which I can apply immediately to a real situation in my life. I have found that it benefits me to spend some time completing behavioral and cognitive tasks in preparation for real learning, in which constructivist ideals take precedence while I bridge what I already know with new knowledge, which is greatly affected by input from my social learning network. I have also been made aware of some negative things which I need to address in my personal approach to learning and the work environment. The text reading mentions self-handicapping, which I sometimes allow myself to do by taking on too much, limiting my success in anything that I attempt, and by procrastinating.
What have you learned regarding the connection between learning theories, learning styles, educational technology, and motivation?
I believe that the most important connection we can make as individual learners is how our own learning preferences relate to the formats and styles of instruction and use that information to put ourselves in the best position to learn material that we have a need to know. As an instructor, our largest task may be to provide students the opportunity to make this connection, so that our endeavors may be successful and our students’ lives may be enriched by the content that they gain.
How will your learning in this course help you as you further your career in the field of instructional design?
I look forward to allowing students to incorporate technology into their lessons, so that they feel that the subject matter is more relevant to their current lives and so they become confident that they are able to succeed in any environment if they use all of the resources available to them. If this is accomplished, motivation should not be hindered.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

